Chinese Somethings

IMG_4730

It’s that time of year I think where Chinese grandmas (or whoever knows) start making large batches of these traditional Chinese “dumplings/bells/jungs”.  My grandma would literally make about a hundred of them (or more) and give them out to people ^_^

IMG_4733

Under the leaves is this uhh… shape of sticky rice and some sort of beans. The ingredients can differ a bit like some would use different beans, no beans or even peanuts. All based on the maker’s preference. My grandma would make different varieties and the only way to tell them apart is by the string length at the end @.@

IMG_4738

Inside will contain a salted egg yolk (YUM! :D), lap teurng (how do I even spell that? It’s Chinese sausage), and some form of salted meat (usually pork). Dried shrimp can sometimes be found inside too. I think it’s good stuff and it is very filling :D. Not sure I can say the same for anyone who doesn’t have a Chinese tongue though…

So… anyone knows the exact name of this in english? >_> Anyone had these before? :D

28 thoughts on “Chinese Somethings

  1. @Pim

    have you noticed how Chinese food seems to change from country to country? The stuff we get in the Netherlands is very different from what I’ve had when I was in London, or New York. Chinese restaurants adjust their menus to what is popular in certain countries. I can understand it, but now I really miss some of the stuff I could get in New York, that I can’t find here at the local Chinese place.

  2. Haha Z according to Wikipedia they are known as Zongzi or Zong, but for Cantonese speakers like me, I call them “Jong”:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zongzi

    Seems like that you have the meaty/salty flavoured fillings. Another popular fillings that my family has is the red bean one – which are sweet~

  3. 粽子, these things are.

    My family used to make them every year, except this year…We forgot. We usually make red bean ones as opposed to meat ones, and we don’t know how to stick an egg yolk in there.

  4. interesting way your grandma tie them up in so many layers with rope. (‘~’)

    just had one for breakfast this morning. the ones sold here the rice is mostly brown in colour.

  5. Ercjohn,http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tamales I never tried them but they look similar enough.

    KKte, wow you know your history :D *is ashame of self*

    Q and GNdynames, strange… I never had the red beans one before and never knew there was red beans one. I think I would’ve been all over them o_o

    Gordon, is it made with brown rice?

Leave a Reply

