PG 00 Raiser and MG Blue Frame

3

Having the time to blog here have became somewhat of a rare opportunity now ^^; Since I don’t have anything noteworthy to talk about for my Turn A WISP, I want to finally let out my thoughts on two “highly-anticipated” gunplas that will be released in the next two months or so. First off, the PG 00 Raiser… looks like a blown-up HG 1/144 00 Raiser w/ LED gimmick. big whoop. Seriously… there’s hardly any aesthetic improvements in panel lines or (nor?) the proportions. Having taken EE classes in both HS and college, LEDs just doesn’t amaze me anymore (except maybe in cars) and the “light-up” factor will probably die out in less than a minute for me (like MG Exia). I don’t even care if it can spin! They should’ve implemented LEDs on the orbs on the arms and legs. Since all we have are images so far, I’ll wait for photos of the actual photo (preferably from Gundam Base) before I judge any further. One thing is clear though: My initial reaction for this model is similar to that of my first time seeing MG Exia. Also, for something that cost ~$250-300…. why does Bandai want to charge MORE to get the so-called “bonus” clear parts? Really, Bandai? Well, the only thing I am looking forward to is the GN Sword III ^^. Can’t wait to see it. Anyway, I already have this thing on pre-order (heh…) just in case… xD

2

Second… The MG Astray Blue Frame 2nd L (what is 2nd Revise?). I think it looks great overall ^^. In some photos, the head looks a bit ugly though. Slimmer proportions compared to 1/100 counterpart but not quite so sleek… kinda like MG Exia to 1/100 Exia. I wonder if that blue action base will be included because it will defiinitely help A LOT in posing that heavy Tactical Arms. It’s great that the giant sword can break into two normal size blades (Blade Tonfa?) as well! So there’s some more posing options :D. I really have to see more photos because I consider this kit too though because of this…

1

“Lancelot” ankles. That looks like it will be begging for trouble and hell lot of frustration. MG Exia’s ankle problems are still fresh in my mind and seeing this again is almost off putting. I would also hate to see another model doing the splits. The drawback for extremely high range of motion is usually poor balance or loose joints (some exceptions). I’m gonna wait and see if this thing can actually stand properly without toppling over/backward first before I consider it. Since there’s no special price/package/bonus item, I’m not missing out on anything from not getting it when it comes out. The Tactical Arm is beckoning to me though…

What do you all think about these two?

All images from Ngee Khiong ^^

65 thoughts on “PG 00 Raiser and MG Blue Frame

  1. looks like dalong has a review of Blue Frame ^^. It scored pretty high too, and looks like there is a gimick (is that how u spell it?) that comes from the PG Red Frame on the nonexistant skirt armor ^^

  2. I saw the Dalong review. It looks like the ankles are blocked by the armor preventing the splits unless you want them.

  3. 2nd Revise is the third version of Blue Frame, 1st is the normal Blue Frame, then Blue Frame 2nd L, and this one is 2nd R (Revise) means the Tactical Arms is actually Tactical Arms II, an upgraded version of Tactical Arms, if you compare both the NG 1/100 and MG 1/100, the big sword actually has a lot of differences. The sword arm (the one with beam saber) you can’t find it in 2nd L, and that armor schneider in MG 1/100 is even more refined and cooler!

Leave a Reply

