Looking through the PG Strike Box

I don’t remember the last time  I opened the box to this model. It’s been years ^^;. Well… I think it’s about time it see the light of day right? or what little of it there is during this time of the year here.Before I start, just thought I’d glance over what I’m up against before actually starting on it so I can calculate how long it’ll take me.

So hardcore. A construction manual AND an instruction manual xD.

Who the hell named this sword “Grand Slam”?!

Funky looking pre-assembled hands. While it saves me time, I’m not sure of any other real benefits. Don’t they become loose over time like any normal hands?

Wanted to talk about about the inner frame parts and stuff but camera ran out of battery ^^;. It’s not like you all don’t know how this model is like anyway. This PG came out in 2004 after all…

32 thoughts on “Looking through the PG Strike Box

  1. the fingers are still strong for me after almost a year since i rarely play with it. but cutting it out from the runner, cleaning the nip marks would be a pain since there are so many attachments to it, mmm.

  2. bd77, yea… I hear from time to time that its hands can’t hold the TBR… among other annoying issues.

    mike, I’m sure it isn’t as bad as the pre-assembled legs from the Shin Musha and RX-78-2 OYW…

  3. @Z: Here’s mine still holding the TBR with one hand:

    (note: he’s the blurry one with a shiny green torso piece, behind Yoko), it has been few months already doing that pose.

  4. Z: I just read your latest blurb. I hate to ask why, so I’ll ask another way: Is it because of how you find all GFF crappy and how they and Gunpla abroad wear down over time? I don’t think it’s unreasonable to conclude, since you’re recently being a downer when describing the hand of a PG like the one you have here, and yet it’s the very first one you’re building. I mean, geez, you’re like me commenting on MGs (or other Gunpla or related figures) I’ve yet to get. :P

  5. bd77, that looks pretty confident… but how does it hold out with the TBR aiming down? xD

    Siroh, haha that blurb isn’t directed at my gunpla ways (though it could be too). Just needed to let that thought off my head is all xD.

    Erazer, now that you mentioned posing… I wonder if I have enough space/background to pose this thing for the camera…

  6. I’m curently building one. Amazed with the inner frame. Too bad, I dont like the aile striker. Launcher striker is much more intimidating :D. Scratchbuilding a custom striker will be fun :D

  7. @Z: I do have some plans, and some components had been (half) completed in 3D models in my computer.
    Advantage of building custom pack(s) for PG Strike:
    If somehow we mess up, it has little probability that it will damage the PG itself, except if it has to be permanently attached to the kit.
    Unfortunately:
    -I’m not confident with my skills. IMO scratchbuilding takes a lot of practice (and money),
    -got money problems (and even more since I have to drive my own car to college this year),
    -in my country, imported (scratchbuilding) goodies are considered expensive compared to average (college student) living cost. It toke almost my whole lot of new year’s bonus just to buy the PG Strike (my only PG beside the skygrasper) -location:indonesia

    Btw, I don’t want to disappoint you and other readers, so you all can get a peek on my (very little) mod on my kit:


    (Z, you may delete this part of post or delete the post entirely if you find it inappropriate to post a link to my pictures in your blog)
    I don’t want to mod the fingers permanently so i just attach the claws with double tape…..

  8. @Z: I do have some plans, and some components had been (half) completed in 3D models in my computer.
    IMO, the advantage of building custom pack(s) for PG Strike:
    If somehow we mess up, it has little probability that it will damage the PG itself, except if it has to be permanently attached to the kit.
    Unfortunately:
    -I’m not confident with my skills. IMO scratchbuilding takes a lot of practice (and money),
    -got money problems (and even more since I have to drive my own car to college this year),
    -in my country, imported (scratchbuilding) goodies are considered expensive compared to average (college student) living cost. It toke almost my whole lot of new year’s bonus just to buy the PG Strike (my only PG beside the skygrasper) -location:indonesia

    I seem unable to post a link here to my picture hosting site, but I want to show my (very) little mod of attaching scratchbuilt claws to it’s fingers. I just attached the claws with double tape because I’m kinda afraid of permanent mods on my $115 kit.

Leave a Reply

