Gunpla and Photography 1

Let’s face it- “Aesthetically awesome Gundam models” isn’t exactly what this blog is known for ^^;. As some of you probably know by now, this blog focuses on photoshooting the Gunplas more than anything else in hopes of providing a throughout picture of a Gundam model’s aesthetics and capabilities… and is probably one of the main reasons why most of you are here ^^;. I wanna take this time to share some thoughts on one of the biggest aspects of this blog, the photography and the photographer.

Now if I were to say “I suck at taking pictures!” or something like that (to be “humble” ya know?) then I’m flat out lying. I do not think my pictures suck but honestly, I do not think they are great either. Obviously there is always general improvements with “practice makes perfect” but  I am aiming to achieve a very specific quality out of my photos that I’ve yet to see myself accomplished. Will talk about that right below.

While I might not always be satisfied with my photoshoots, I do have a fair share of “favorites” which you see in this post. The look I mainly want to achieve is something like you see in Keita’s work. Clean, sharp, vibrant and you can see EVERYTHING! I feel my photos are a bit… too bright and saturated o_O. Been working on it and slowly but surely, I am getting the result I wanted. The closest I’ve gotten with the quality I’m talking about was with my GFFMC RX-78-2 Gundam Ver. Ka.

Let’s talk about Photography in general now. Some think that if you have a good camera then you can automatically take good pictures… I almost want to call them “idiots” but I’ll just respectfully disagree.  In my opinion, the camera and photographer needs to be as one! Someone who has never held a camera probably can’t make full use of an SLR and a pro will be sorely disappointed with a camera phone. A photo quality depends only so much on the camera and the rest on the person taking the photo. One needs at least some experience before shelling out the dough for a pricey camera- I say this because I hear one too many times people with no skills using their SLR on full auto and complaining the camera and photos suck. I outgrew my Canon SX100 point-and-shoot but I think it’ll be awhile before I can even squeeze out half of the potential in my XSi ^^.

There is obviously a lot more to photoshooting than just picking up the camera and shoot. I’ll cover more on Gunpla photoshooting in Part 2 as this post is becoming tl;dr ^^;. I’ll continue with Part 2 another day on how I photoshoot my Gundam models while providing some tips and tricks that will hopefully be useful to some of you who are also into photoshooting their Gundam models. This post is to “open up the doors” for everyone to know what’s to come… and for me to get an idea on who’s interested before I go ahead and type up stuff that’ll put everyone to sleep ^^;. Photoshooting your Gundam models can be fun!

Oh yea… 400th post! o_o

23 thoughts on “Gunpla and Photography 1

  1. I’m coming back to this entry after having my used a camera a few times, recently. And with a tripod, finally. I think I come with an appreciation of the hobby in both the building and photo-taking, as I try to make good use of my camera while it still works.
    I don’t know all the inner-workings of my Kodak EasyShare camera (especially in comparison to my basic knowledge of my preferred paint program of choice), but I’ve managed to make pretty decent use out of it, and when taking rapid-fire shots of the model in hoping something good would come out of it, I get a pretty decent or good one that can easily define my model’s panel lines, seams, and nubs. And it has worked for me. Yeah, sure, I have a paint program and I crop stuff and sometimes do things with images, but I try to keep the photo intact while touching it up here and there (but not by much).

    But I think I’ve taken a photo that I dare say is one of my best (if not the) thus far… At least when it comes to Gunpla, of course. It makes me wonder if luck is a big factor in taking a good photo. I guess it’s definitely so for a decent amateur like myself, since your words about the photographer and camera having to be one are ringing as true in my try at this, Z.

  2. I’ve been making reviews using point-and-shoot cameras too before migrating to dslr last year.

    btw, since the beginning i have been wondering what lens are using and now you’ve showed it. Nice lens you have! (EF-s 60mm f/2.8 macro) :)

    Cheers,
    séeput

Leave a Reply

