Gunpla Review Submission

I came up with this idea of linking others Gunpla reviews in my own half a year ago and it was rather well received by most of you but unfortunately, I’ve been lagging behind on it. Combing through every blog, looking for reviews, going back to my own and editing the links in, then leave some doodle marks on the other person’s review got a bit tedious ^^;. I’ve managed to browse through only 3/4 of the blogs on my blogroll but the people I’ve browsed through are already putting out new reviews so I am falling behind on updating. So let’s make some changes…

Starting the moment you read this post, you can submit your own reviews of models that I also have already reviewed through email. If you’ve reviewed any of the models that I’ve reviewed also, then just send me any links you want from your blog and I’ll include them at the end of my own reviews. Simple enough, right? I’ll lay out the rules for clarity’s sake:

1. Your reviews should have substance (you know what I mean).  Most, if not all, of you should be fine in this aspect. Basically, I just don’t want anything that goes like this: “THIS GUNPLA IS GREAT BECAUSE (Gundam series/unit) IS THE F**KING BEST AND (Character) KICKS ASS!!!111!!!1” <— I remember reading reviews like this back in the heydays of angelfire and geocities… it was atrocious.

2. Variation models are okay. For example, you can send me reviews of your MG ReZEL, Crossbone X-1 Ver. Ka, or regular Destiny Gundam since I have the Commander Type, Full Cloth, and EBM version of them respectively.Or any of the MG Strike  or HG 00 variants… anyway, you get the point.

3. If your review is in multiple parts, then send me the link of the part you want people to see when they click on your link.

4. Customized (painted, modded, whatnot) kit reviews are fine… as long as it is a “review”, and not just a gallery with absolutely no writing in it.

5. Please give me anywhere between 1 day until forever to insert your links into my reviews ^^;. I probably don’t need THAT much time  but ya know… I’m busy and lazy sometimes.

6. Email your review links to gunpla(dot)inochi(at)gmail(dot)com.

7. Oh yea, you must be on my blogroll… but this is a given.

8. HG/MG/SD… all reviews are fine. SH Figuarts are fine too!

9. You do not need to do anything for me  in return.

10. You can send me links whenever you feel like. There is no deadline.

I think I’ve covered everything… If not, ask away.

Again, I am doing this so readers have faster and more convenient access to information (reviews) about a specific Gunpla they are looking into and at the same time, other blogs can hopefully receive a bit more recognition.  I can’t accomplish this by myself efficiently so I need your help in this.

よろしくお願いします~!

28 thoughts on “Gunpla Review Submission

  1. :o
    I may submit my gunpla (my first one) one day…
    When the nubs are gone and more detail is put one it.
    Any advice for nub removal except for the knife and without leaving scratches?

    1. I’m not Z, but personally I wouldn’t worry too much about nubs. Right now, my modeling tools are improvised tools better used in more practical areas in life, and while they still look so-so to the years-long semi-professional modeler (or the average Gunpla fan that just posts about it on a forum), I don’t pay too much attention to nub removal and I think the end result of at least some of my work happens to be pretty decent.

      There’s certainly a reward for putting a bit more care in building, detailing, and customizing Gunpla. And I try with what limited skills and resources I have before showing off my completed work. But if, for example, going back and fixing each nub mark and detailing every panel line becomes such a chore, it won’t be fun any longer, for the most part. That’s how I feel, at least. *shrug*

      So try and find that middle ground of putting some effort into it while making it fun to build and pose around. I’ve seen much worse (such as straight-build 1/144s or ones with detailing sloppier than mine).

      1. Thanks for the advice. :)
        Although it was my first ever gunpla I ever built from like years ago, it still looks good but it slightly dissembled.

        It may not look impressive to other people as it was a straight-build without any details at all. This is because I don’t prefer the use of the paint so I am thinking of using gundam markers instead. :L (Which you could consider slightly lazy…) :D

        The nubs on it are massive meaning you could easily chop it off with scissors as I did pull the pieces out with my hands. :L

        Also the chest got broken off but super glue should be able to fix it… I hope as it is a very small piece.

      2. hehe, I can relate to you on this one. However, I am too OC for nubs, you know what I mean. But once I removed it, I can feel a sense of achievement during my build process. It may take long, but the results are worth it (if your are like me, at least, haha)

    2. The other option is either a very fine (the finest you can find) file or pick up a plastic side cutter. Preferably Tamiya.

  2. My last essay of a comment for now (since I need rest), and hopefully I’ll stop my forum-style impulses after this. Again, parts I’m replying to are bolded.

    “If you’ve reviewed any of the models that I’ve reviewed also, then just send me any links you want from your blog and I’ll include them at the end of my own reviews.”

    Heheheheh… That’s 0 of 2 I have…for now! (Oh, I can’t wait for a certain model to come up in this light.)

    “4. Customized (painted, modded, whatnot) kit reviews are fine… as long as it is a “review”, and not just a gallery with absolutely no writing in it.”
    I’m sure not only I’d cover that, you’d probably freak out about too much writing and not enough photos. :)

    “3. If your review is in multiple parts, then send me the link of the part you want people to see when they click on your link.”
    I’m sure by the impossible time that I get a blog and you get the 1/144 Kapool that I’d initially would bug you to link to my first of the five-parter DA review… Which has too much writing and not enough pictures. :P

    “7. Oh yea, you must be on my blogroll… but this is a given.”
    Then it sucks to be me. :) (I’m sure touching up my FLAT will come before that WordPress blog registration.)

    “9. You do not need to do anything for me in return.”
    I don’t think I’ve ever completed that battle photo contest thingy from two years ago that I said I’d do anyway for you. :)

    “I think I’ve covered everything…”
    …With some Wing ver. Ka love stock footage as sugar on top! (Old or new, you can’t go wrong there, Z.)

  3. Great idea Z. Maybe in the future I will also participe in this. But first have to finish my work on 1/100 Saviour. I’m working on it since about 1,5 year and I hope that with the begining of the next month, it will be at last finished XD.

  4. I think I’ll send one later this month. ^^
    Is is going to be under the Master Grade tab, or a new tab like Reader Submission or something like that?

    1. The link is going to be inside the same review as the model I’ve reviewed. After the “VERDICT” section so it’s more obvious. That’s how I’ve always been doing it.

    1. People are just currently caught up in MGs and RG Strike, while HG is currently a bit dull with Dreissen & GMs (I’m an UC fan, but I have to admit it’s a bit underwhelming. Still waiting for HGUC GM Sniper II though).
      HG will definitely be back on hot topics when the Master Gundam and Jesta rolls out.

  5. This sounds awesome. I hope this is successful so that different model lines get added. I would really love in-depth reviews of stuff like Armored Core or Frame Arms.

  6. Please read everything in this post before submitting so you understand what I’m asking for; I’m already getting links to stuff that I don’t have >_>

    Thanks!

  7. I sent a custom paint job I did for the old 1/100 Astray RF, since you covered both it and the Second L in the same review, I felt it worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

